Small business & Startups forum

General discussion

Start a small business: Square One

by thejuice16 / December 1, 2009 3:27 AM PST

Just want to start out by saying thanks in advance to any help anyone offers.

So for a little background, my name is Scott and I am a college student at Texas Tech in Lubbock, Texas. I am originally from New Jersey, and I have hopes of starting many small businesses in upstate New York. I have many business ideas for the area I am looking at, and just to say now, I am not looking for new ideas as of now, I am looking for advice on how to begin. The town I hope to start in, preferably stay in, is a historical town that has been run down over the years. I hope to start out by purchasing one building on the main street, convert it back to its original form and start most likely a book store. Over time I will purchase more and more, with the goal of revamping this town to its original, historical looking self. (This town is in and around big summer tourist spots, so the summer is the main time of year for business) Other ventures would be starting a bar, ice cream shop, barber shop, and other small town fixtures that its lacking. In the end I would be a real estate developer for small time projects. (No big city stuff!)