Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Standard or High Definition?

by king custard / May 2, 2007 4:34 AM PDT

I will start off by thanking all of you in advance for reading this and possibly offering some insight. We just had our first child and I need to buy a camcorder in the next week. I've done quite a bit of research but I can't bring myself to make a purchase, because their seem to be so many pros AND cons to each one I consider. I have a Sony HDTV, 1080p at home. I was pretty much decided on the Sony DCR-SR200, but if I'm going to spend $800 on a camcorder, I wonder if I should spend $200 more and get a high definition one - like the Canon HV20. I'm not a professional, but I'd like to get a camcorder with a hard drive, that has excellent video quality and sound and very good low light performance. I also wonder if since I have a HDTV I should get the high def camcorder - but then if I do that, does that raise a bunch of issues.problems with editing, burning etc. that would be much easier with a non-HD one. Thanks very much for any help you can give. Joe

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Standard or High Definition?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Standard or High Definition?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.