Desktops forum

General discussion

STAND-BY vs HIBERNATION

Sorry to add to the mountain of discussion here. But I do have a question for which I'm not seeing an answer.
I'm a relative newbie and I find this particular forum fascinating in all the well-presented pros and cons on turning the computer on or off.

I just went through the 273-post thread below and several other. But I was unable to determine what the difference is between HIBERNATION and STANDBY. I have XP at home and these options are both available. I have used HIBERNATION and found it similar to shut down: I had to press the PC power button to get going, although it started right up where it had left off. STAND-BY lets me use the mouse or keyboard to 'wake-up' the computer.

Which is better?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: STAND-BY vs HIBERNATION
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: STAND-BY vs HIBERNATION
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Re:STAND-BY vs HIBERNATION