Speakeasy forum

General discussion

SpyWare, What? me Worry? Nah!

by Minor Tron God / October 29, 2005 1:52 AM PDT

I am pretty new to home computing and the internet adventure but I am not new to Electronics, been a Tech for nearly 30 years. Viruses, ''BAD'' they will kill ya, a good realtime antivirus protection program is a must,I agree. AdWare, SpyWare, MallWare, KeyLoggers, TrackingCookies, OH MY! Being a newbie to the Internet OOH Scarey Bears. So I got a SpyWare remover, one you could run stand alone to isolate and remove said ''Scarey Bears'' as well as run realtime to keep it from invading my precious, already slow as hell PC and Dialup connection. I found realtime removal to slow me down so much I quit using it, opting to isolate and remove after any online participation, Fine, Fat and Happy. One time though I ran the Scan, found quite a few new, ''Scarey Bears'', but before isolation and removal I tried something else. I have a couple of different File shredder applications I use, one for it's scheduling ability to overwrite and wipe unused drive space, one for it's Right Click availability. What I did was run the Shredder on all internet cookies and Temp Internet files then, and this is not necessary, on unused disc space. I then ran the SpyWare scanner and found no trace of any ''Scarey Bears''. I kept the the SpyWare remover and practiced this procedure for over a month, always with the same result. I have since removed the Spy Remover and used my procedure instead, just for grins i downloaded another one recently from download.com just to check. Nothing, Zero, Zilch, NoNada por KaKa. Shredding is faster, easier, shredding programs take up less disc space and appearently give the same results. Am I Wrong?, tell me, Inquireing minds want to know. Thanks Y'all.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: SpyWare, What? me Worry? Nah!