TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

SONY SXRD not true 1080p?! WHAT TO DO?

by stevenhogden / May 21, 2006 8:32 AM PDT

here's the thing, i'm new to all of this and with the prices we're talking
i want the best i can get for under $5000
but my confusion level is high and you guys know your stuff

at the end of the day i want an exceptional picture and a set that will take advantage of the upcoming blu-ray, hddvd, and so on

so that said i'm looking for a TV at 60" and over

the SONY SXRD is gorgeous in-store, the best picture i've seen for the money but friends with some knowledge tell me that it does not take a true 1080p signal natively and will not be able to take advantage of the blu-ray dvds and certain tech just on the horizon such as the PLAYSTATION 3

so now based on that i've explored the limited number of 1080p tvs on the market and found that the HP PAVILLION 65" is getting outstanding reviews on the net but no one seems to carry them instore where i've been ( BESTBUY has the plasmas by them and Magnolia says they don't carry them)

so i also heard about the new DLP's with lasers instead of bulbs from SAMSUNG and MITSUBISHI but the price and wait for them is what i don't know and what are the real advantages

so back to square one
i'm at bestbuy and the SONY SXRD 60" 1080p (which apparently isn't native) is sitting right next to the MITSUBISHI 1080p which is native
and SONY is kicking it's ***

so being the newbie i am, what am i not realizing
is the signal that both tvs are hooked up to "lying"
does SONY have a 1080p native TV coming soon within that size and price range

what's the skinny guys?!

signed,
CONFUSED

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: SONY SXRD not true 1080p?! WHAT TO DO?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates