Laptops forum

General discussion

SONY laptop displays a" BIOS hardware update needed "message

Hi
My Sony PCG-GRX550 diplays a closely resembling message as follows:
The hardware is not BIOS compliant and it has to be updated. Go to www.hardware-update.com. If this is the first time you get this message, continue with what you are doing. Otherwise turn off ACPI compliance in BIOS settings by pressing F7 key.
It dumps a memory log at the end of this
This happens everytime I restart or click hibernate. I am new to computers and would appreciate any help. I am not even able to goto the BIOS settings because it doesn't go to the advance boot up menu now when I restart. After I restart, it gives me an option delete the restoration data and continue with system boot menu. If I press this, the system boots
normally. Since it is not hibernating, is it a memory problem. If so, how do I check if RAM has gone kaput? Windows also displays a message that computer has recovered from a serious problem.
Also, even if the computer is connected to AC power, I get a battery low symbol. But if press the cord connected to the notebook, it goes away. Does that look like a AC adapter problem.
Since my notebook has a wireless card, I tend to do use the laptop on sofa, bed etc. Only after reading the messages here, I realized that you should not do that. Are these all caused by overheating? Where do I use the CAnner air on the laptop. I have no idea where the heatfans are located. Would a cooling pad make a difference? If so I would like some recommendations please.
This is a 3 yr old laptop. Would I be better off buying a newer laptop than fixing all these problems?
Sorry about the length of the post.
TIA
Vidya

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: SONY laptop displays a" BIOS hardware update needed "message