Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Sony camcorders and making the right choice!

by architect / September 2, 2004 8:53 AM PDT

To R. Proffitt

In response to some of your previous comments, Bob. I was wondering why you advised that "Windows Update Drivers" be left well alone. Further, I am intending to buy a camcorder, while here in the US, and I have found several good websites... With regard to pricing the best, as far as I can tell, is realdealshop.com - I was hoping you might have some advice. I have also learnt that Sony have excellent quality products but a high end price. Where as Canon have good lenses they tend to be; less good looking, not as highly rated and, seemingly, harder to use. As I am a total novice in this field I would be grateful for any recommendations in terms of product, as well as sites for purchase. To give you some sort of guideline I would be unwilling to spend more than $800 and I would like something that does well by night, as well as a digitil still capability.

John

btw... I haven't discounted JVC et al

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Sony camcorders and making the right choice!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Sony camcorders and making the right choice!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.