The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

Some comments about vista

(I sent this as an email to the show but it might not be read so i thought i would post it here and see what you guys think)

Hi Molly, Tom and Jason,

You have been mentioned vista and its perceptions to the public and companies a lot in the last few weeks. I have two points to share with you:

1. Companies usually don't upgrade for years after a new OS comes out. The average time, i've seen, is from 3 to 6 years after the new OS comes out. And the larger the company the slower the change. I just upgraded a company (with about 300 machines) from Windows 2000 to Windows XP just last year. No matter what OS Microsoft put out, good or bad, and how many licenses are sold, most companies have no plans to upgrade anytime soon. If it works why change? (I was a desktop/network consultant for 14 years for small and very large companies.)

2. Re the Microsoft Mojave experiment ads:
Even if consumers had only 10 mins to use vista they still would have seen that it isn't so bad. Most consumers don't care about the security features or core stability issues. They usually just want to go on the web, check email and maybe use word. For them vista will be fine. You mentioned the printers and other equipment that vista doesn't support. Vista has drivers for almost every hardware (in the 32 bit version) now. Maybe 0.1% of users will have problems upgrading. And i still think its the best choice for consumers buying a new system.

Love the show Wink

Thurman in NYC

(Disclaimer: I'm not a vista fan boy. I did upgrade to it but quickly changed back to Windows XP. I really don't need the improvements to play games, be a student and work for ChaCha.)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Some comments about vista
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.