Forum Feedback & Announcements forum

General discussion

Solar Panels

I've been thinking about getting a solar panel. But i have questions about the output of the panel. Say the panel produces 24 V and i want to connect it to something that only needs 6 V, how would i connect the two. What kind of resistor would i need to balance the current in the circuit with the object drawing the current? Because i want free energy, but not something that will destroy what i connect it to. Do i need a resistor, capacitor of somesort? if so how would i connect it into the circuitry? I am really new with concepts of circuitry so can anyone explain to me step-step processes... Thanks

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Solar Panels
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Solar Panels
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Basic forumas to work with

In reply to: Solar Panels