Office & Productivity Software forum

Question

Software for a legal dictionary / legal encyclopedia

by Flapjak87 / August 2, 2013 1:11 AM PDT
TL;DR: I want to make a personal knowledge database / wiki / dictionary. What software should I use?

Dear CNET community

I have a law degree and I'm working as an assistant attorney at a law firm in Denmark. I have a lot of scattered notes, documents and links and I would really love to have that one place to put all my legal knowledge.

Therefore I'm looking for software to help me create a personal knowledge base / encyclopedia / dictionary - a place where I can something up in the future.
(I know there are plenty of English law dictionaries, however I am looking to creating my own one regarding Danish law.)

"Need to have"-features:

1) The ability to create a "wiki page" for each topic

2) Search

3) Categories / trees of topics / #hashtags
4) Links to other pages (like Wikipedia)

"Nice to have"-features

1) "import words from text document feature" (I would love to be able to take a text/PDF file (e.g. a new court ruling) and have the program search through the words. If it contains words that already have a page in the encyclopedia, I can choose to "link" the document to that page - if the text file contains a word that does not already have a page, I can choose to create a page) (this feature would ROCK)

2) both a desktop application and a web-app

3) iOS / phone App for taking quick notes - or an import feature from the iPhone's Notes app

4) Some sort of drag-and-drop feature where I can easily link documents (e.g. court rulings) to a certain topic (e.g. bankrupcy)

I would of course prefer a free, open source and beautifully maintained program, but I am also willing to pay for the right features.

Thank you for reading through this. If you can point me in the general direction of a program with all or some of these features, I will be very grateful!

Thanks in advance

Mathias K.L.
Denmark
Discussion is locked