Headphones & Mp3 Players forum

General discussion

So many headphones

by smile317 / December 11, 2007 9:00 PM PST

I have no experience with anything other than these which I have owned or borrowed at one point or another).I summarized this in another thread:
**Shure E2c: not really hifi sound (huge treble roll off, boomy bass)
**Shure E4c: overly forward midrange.Nice bass and treble.
**Etymotic ER4p: where's the bass Not true to the music IMO.
**Etymotic ER-6i: very nice sounding as well.Slightly different house sound from the ER4p.Also very enjoyable but the bass was even weaker than the ER4p.
**But to date the iM716 is the best IEM I have heard unamped,I almost couldn't notice the difference between the E4C and the im716 .The im716 at $80 represents one of the best values among the IEM offerings.

Unfortunately, everyone has different ears.And to be honest,I'm not sure noise canceling headphones are true noise canceling, they might just filter the noise (they don't claim to do it 100%)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: So many headphones
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: So many headphones
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.