Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

Small Business website - I'm new at this

by Travis2k7 / October 24, 2008 9:35 PM PDT

My employer has been in the machine shop business for 38 years with virtually no advertising other than yellow pages and word of mouth. I managed to convince him that a website would be a great idea to increase business. Our local competitors all have websites and I think it's time for the boss to step into the 21st century.

I am the computer guru of the shop running a CNC waterjet cutter and designing with Autocad. I was given the task of putting a website together. I have no doubt I can do it, I just don't have much experience with it so far.

I've started to look around and am wondering what all I need. Would http://www.networksolutions.com/web-hosting/index.jsp?siteid=246&channelid=P61C246S570N0B9A1D255E0000V1486 be a start or should I look elsewhere? I don't expect traffic to be overwhelming at the site. Are these http://www.networksolutions.com/create-a-website/index.jsp "Do it yourself" website design programs acceptable? A domain name and web hosting along with links to the search engines is what I am pretty sure I need but am unsure about what else.

As far as prices I estimated $250 or less, I hope I am not wrong there.

If anyone can give me some pointers on what I need and where I can go to get started on this small business website it would be greatly appreciated. If you need further info please let me know.

Thank you very much.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Small Business website - I'm new at this
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates