Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Sixes keep appearing when I try to type using my keyboard

by gem2001 / July 27, 2007 5:34 AM PDT

I'm a novice computer user with the following problem: lately when I try to type characters into a blank field, i.e. browser search field, or this XP Forum message editor, the letter "6" appears and keeps appearing without me doing anything, creating a long string of sixes. I also hear a "ding" sound sometimes when the sixes starting pro-creating. Has anyone seen this problem or know what to do? I'm running WindowsXP on a Compaq Presario 2500, Cosmi firewall.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Sixes keep appearing when I try to type using my keyboard
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Sixes keep appearing when I try to type using my keyboard
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
I'd start with ...
by Kees Bakker / July 27, 2007 5:38 AM PDT

trying another keyboard.