The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

Show Notes 270

by acedtect-20196213851867054973637995818137 / July 17, 2006 5:29 AM PDT

Episode 270

Software turns Google into virus scanner (via slashdot)

HP announces metadata for physical objects

RFID passports coming to US (thanks Peterjon!)

Virus leaps to smart radio tags

Indian government blocking blogs

News clips for sale on DVD. Huh? (via slashdot)

UK wants G8 summit to deal with

Broadband growth slowing down

UK to get FM transmitters for iPod; get ready for frustration!

Clark in North Carolina
I too am in the service industry. I'm a plumber. I do some network technician/admin stuff too. Since I discoverd the Internet is tubes, I've been able to combine my two trades by clearing networks with my plumbing tools. I'm going to be taking over the world probably. When I do I'll buy Veronica all the gadgets she wants.

Shalim from Houston
I work in the space industry in Houston. The inflatable space station idea is an old technology. It's the first tie they put it up in orbit. It was a Russian rocket but not a Russian company. It's made of kevlar so it's actually better than current space station.
--Also request Molly refrain from saying blow-up and space station in the same sentence.

Inflatable space station to become hotel?

Why batteries explode - Robert C. in Canada

The reason that the batteries used in laptops are catching fire is quite elementary my dead BOL Crew...

They are LiIon (Lithium Ion) and Lithium, like magnesium, when it gets hot enough reacts with Oxygen creating a powerful exothermic reaction. Think of physically pushing a heavy box on the ground. first you have to beat the force of friction and then the box moves freely. When Lithium and Oxygen are together, all you need is enough heat to trigger the reaction and then the lithium burns very hot and bright.