Laptops forum

General discussion

Should I increase the RAM or get a new unit?

by abin06 / September 20, 2008 2:47 AM PDT

Hi All,

I have been using a Lenovo laptop for the past 2 years without any problems. It is an Intel Celeron M 420 1.6 Ghz system with 512 Mb RAM, 60Gb HDD, Intel 945 GM Chipset. My needs are very basic .... lots of net surfing, playing DVDs and working on spreadsheets, which the unit still does well. I'm using Windows XP Pro SP 2 on it. I have never formatted the machine but regularly defrag and clean the registry using ccleaner. It has become a bit slow now. I am a bit confused on whether I should get a new laptop with the latest specs or should I increase the RAM to 1 Gb. Could you please suggest , considering my needs what would be the best thing to do? Also advise what is the ammount of RAM I should have on this machine for best performance. What is the max RAM supported by XP? Can I use a Tv tuner card with this machine?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Should I increase the RAM or get a new unit?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Should I increase the RAM or get a new unit?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.