Laptops forum

General discussion

Shopping for a Laptop

I am shopping for a new laptop. My original choice was a Toshiba Satellite A75-S206. I was then concerned about the weight being 8 pounds. I am a Web developer working on SQL server2000 and will be using .NET Studio shortly. So my idea was to buy a pentium 4 2.8 Ghz or more.

I was then looking towards the IBM T41 m/c which is lighter. It is a Centrino 1.6/1.7 specification.

Will an IBM t41 cater to my needs? Or there any other models which will be a better option?

I am not sure whether I will go for a Sony Vaio. Right now I am getting the A75-S206 for 1199 (After rebates) from Microcenter. If I get their VISA card I would get another $100 off. So for $1100 I would be getting

Pentium 4 HT 2.8Ghz (533 Frontside Bus)
512MB RAM
60GB HDD,DVD-CDRW
Intergrated Wireless 80211.b/80211.g
15.4" Active Matrix display.

is there any Centrino which will come close to the above specifications?

Please advise.

Ramjee

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Shopping for a Laptop
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Shopping for a Laptop
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.