Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Seeking tech/programming explanation of eavesdropping, packe

by Ms_Tenacity / August 7, 2010 7:04 AM PDT

Can someone refer me to a detailed discussion, from a technical POV, of how packet sniffing or eavesdropping of Wi-Fi is done?

I am *not* seeking the name of software to do this, nor am I seeking to write such software. But as a former programmer, I'm interested in knowing how it's done, I'm curious to know how it's done.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Seeking tech/programming explanation of eavesdropping, packe
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Seeking tech/programming explanation of eavesdropping, packe
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Research is possible.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / August 8, 2010 1:16 AM PDT
Collapse -
Many tnx.
by Ms_Tenacity / August 8, 2010 5:25 AM PDT
In reply to: Research is possible.