Cameras forum

General discussion

Seeking advice on purchasing first camera

by newNconfused / November 16, 2004 1:51 AM PST

I'm interested in taking up photography as a hobby, but have never owned a serious camera before, digital or otherwise. I'd want to be able to photograph outdoors well such as nature, buildings, scenery since that's what I'm most interested in. I'm a college student though, so I'd also want to be able to take good quick snap shots. I'm looking in the $300-$400 range right now since I'm on a budget obviously and so far I've seen the Canon Powershot A80 (or A95 or A75), S410, and the Sony Cyber Shot DSC-V1 look good. Konica Minolta Dimage Xg sounds good too. I guess right now I'm leaning towards one of those first Canon Powershots. Any recommendations? And is the fact that it's powered by the alkaline batteries rather than lithium gonna be a nuisance? the added weight and bulk I mean.

Thanks a lot for any advice.

P.S. Although I'm new to photography, I'm not concerned about getting a "user-friendly" camera, I'm more concerned with getting whatever can give the best results for the price. So I'd be willing to put in time and learn the intricacies needed for a more complex camera if that's what's better.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Seeking advice on purchasing first camera
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.