HolidayBuyer's Guide

Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

search all paramaters except blank ones

by adamgram / September 6, 2008 12:19 PM PDT

So I'm very new to all this and I'm trying to build a website based on a MySQL database. I want to make a page that has a bunch of different attributes you can search by. The way it's set up now if you don't fill out a certain criteria it only turns up entries where that criteria is blank. I want it to show all of the rows where the other columns match, ignoring the blank one. Here's what I'm doing now:

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table
WHERE var_1='$var_1'
AND var_2='$var_2'
AND var_3='$var_3'
");

$var_1, $var_2, and $var_3 all come from an html form, and if certain fields aren't filled in they're left blank and respond to if... statement where $var_1=='' When I only had 4 of them I made one for each of the 16 possible combinations, but now I want to double that so it's time to figure out a better way. I've been searching for a couple hours but it seems like I don't know enough about MySQL to know what to look for. I just copied what I have now from a tutorial. Anyone one to help point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: search all paramaters except blank ones
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: search all paramaters except blank ones