Computer Help forum

Resolved Question

SD card reader not working

by John_Conquest / June 20, 2012 10:56 AM PDT

So, I have a 32gb micro-sd card, with an adapter to use on my laptop.

I've been using it for roughly 3 or 4 months, and it has all of my music and school work on it. Just today, my laptop stopped reading the card. It will read other sd cards/micro-sd cards, with the same adapter, so something is wrong with the card itself.

Windows says that the file system on there is not recognisable, and to format it. Which I'm okay with doing, but i want to recover the data on there first.
If i put the SD card in my phone, which is a simple Android-based phone, I can read the music and files on there just fine, which leads me to think that its a problem with the reader on my computer.

My computer is an HP Pavilion dv7-6169nr.
My operating system is Windows 7 home premium.
The adapter I'm using is a Kingston Micro-SD adapter, and my SD-Card is a SanDisk 32gb Micro sdhc.

Thanks in advance!

John_Conquest has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: SD card reader not working
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: SD card reader not working
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.