General discussion

SATA or PATA or IDE

Hello
I will first appoligse if I am in the wrong link. Sorry
Without opening up my Laptop computer (as I am a novice with computers) can you please tell me, where I can find information on my Laptop computer about my hard drive. I wish to know if my hard drive is a SATA or PATA or IDE.
Help please
Many thanks

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: SATA or PATA or IDE
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: SATA or PATA or IDE
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
First tell us . . .

laptop make and model. Or have you gone to the manufacturer's web site?

- Collapse -
SATA or PATA or IDE

All I know is that its a DEll Laptop Computer,and running Vista

- Collapse -
And all we know ...

is that Dell sold both IDE and SATA laptops. So that does't really help.

What does Device Manager say about the disk?

Kees

- Collapse -
SATA or PATA or IDE

Hello, and thanks you for your help, I went into the Device Manager and all its given me this.....WDC WD50 00BEVT-00SCS SCSI Disk Service.
Thats all I could get....sorry

- Collapse -
Re: disc

The context of this line might be useful, but even that doesn't always make it clear for the laymen like you and me.

But I found http://www.karan.org/blog/index.php/2009/09/23/western-digital-wd50-2-5-sata-500gb-disk.