TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Samsung vs Toshiba 50' DLP

by mrbockbagok / May 2, 2007 9:05 AM PDT

Hello, I'm new to this whole HDTV thing, and have been trying to learn as much about it as I can. I'm currently looking at these two DLP TVs:

Samsung HLS5066
http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926HDS0010077153&catid=23250

Toshiba 50HM66
http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926HDS0010074155&catid=23250

I'm not looking for top of the line, just something nice to play X-box 360 and watch a few movies on. I will also be wanting to hook up this receiver http://www.onkyousa.com/model.cfm?class=Receiver&m=TX-SR604&p=i.

I have tried to search these two TVs, on the web and have not found out much about them. I have gone to look at them in the store, and I can't see any difference in quality between the two along with the other TVs near by.

My question is; which one would you recommend and why?

Thank you for you help, as I can't decide.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Samsung vs Toshiba 50' DLP
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Samsung vs Toshiba 50' DLP
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.