HolidayBuyer's Guide

Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

"RPCSS Starting..." - big problem

by huzi8t9 / June 23, 2010 4:28 AM PDT

Hello, I am new to CNET and not exatly sure of the rules. So please advise me where I am incorrect.

I am running on Windows XP Professional on a Toshiba laptop.

I tried to boot my system up yesturday morning (with no previous error(s)) and my system gets stuck on "RPCSS is starting..."; I looked on another thread at a similar problem, the only difference was that whomever had the problem before, their system would eventually get passed it.

I have left my laptop on all night to see if it would get passed this screen, and nothing changed.

I have concidered rebooting my laptop with a different version of XP, but as I am a website designer, I have many clients' projects on my laptop; I never thought to back them up because my laptop is fine - so I thought!

I hope there is a reasonable solution to this unexpected problem.

Thank you for any advice you may give me, any help is grealty appreciated.

Mark

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: "RPCSS Starting..." - big problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: "RPCSS Starting..." - big problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.