Question

Renamed a folder, now 90% of it's content are GONE! Please h

As the title says, just earlier today I changed a file from 'August Projects' to 'September Projects'.
A few hours later I went into the folder to arrange files and I noticed that instead of 40 or so file folders, there were only 6!!
What the hell? What could have happened here?

(I'm a musician/producer)
This is the most current/important things I have been working on, and it is imperative to recover these some how. I do not believe they are completely gone, just 'hidden'.

Please and thank you so much for any help
- these files are a big part of the life I'm trying to create. I was JUST about to back everything up together on an external hard drive..

I'm running OSX 10.6.8

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: Renamed a folder, now 90% of it's content are GONE! Please h
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Renamed a folder, now 90% of it's content are GONE! Please h
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Answer
If this is as important as you say it is,

STOP using the machine right now and call DriveSavers on 800.440.1904 or 415.382.2000
It's going to cost you, big time, but you may feel that it is worth it.

The less you use this machine, the greater the chances of successful data recovery.