Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Reinstall problems with XP Home Edition

by Trailhop / April 14, 2005 6:54 PM PDT

I am attempting a reformat/reinstall on my daughters Dell; OS is XP Home Edition. Everything was going well until I got to the "preparing to install". At that point I got a message, "File needed" It needs the asms file, which should be on the installation CD. I've searched the Dell and Microsoft sites and tried the tips I picked up there, but none work. Another problem now is, I can get back into F2 setup, but I can't get the darn computer to allow me to start over. The computer will no longer allow me to boot from the CD when I change the boot sequence. I need to figure out how to get back to delete the partitions (again) and start over, but I no longer get the prompt "press any key to begin setup"

*the CD Rom drive is working. (only one CD ROM drive)
*the installation CD is clean.

I'm not a techie, I'm pretty new to this stuff.
Any suggestions at all would be greatly appreciated.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Reinstall problems with XP Home Edition
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Reinstall problems with XP Home Edition
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.