HolidayBuyer's Guide

Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

Recommended Wireless Company?

by saruyama / November 8, 2004 4:37 AM PST

I recently purchased and very quickly returned a Netgear MR814 wireless router and two MA111 USB network adapters because of serious problems. To make a long story short, Netgear tech help was absolutely non-existant: I got disconnected every time I made a telephone call (after spending considerable time navigating their menu) and never got responses through e-mail tech support. I am not a computer novice but networking is a complicated issue, yet since wireless networks are becoming as essential as my microwave or cell phone I am not ready to give up. Is there a company--Linksys, Belkin, or whoever--that actually holds up the "24x7" tech support listed on the box?--I mean, I am willing to pay more to ensure that tech support exists so I can keep a simple home network (two PCs and a DSL connection) running. I would very much appreciate any comments.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Recommended Wireless Company?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Recommended Wireless Company?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.