Question

Recommended thermal paste for 550ti?

Dec 8, 2017 7:07PM PST

Hey there!
Currently running an ASUS 550ti that I purchased for $34 from China off eBay on a DQ67SW Intel board and a 3.1 Ghz i5, 8GB 1333mhz DDR3 that I actually traded for a few years back, as well as a donated 800W power supply. The entire setup is from used parts, and I know the thermal paste is dry and brittle by this point, namely because I've already checked under the heatsinks.
Thing is, this is my first time actually using a dedicated graphic card of this caliber, and I know the GPU runs a bit hotter than just your typical CPU. My i5 is currently idling at around 90F-100F, and GPU at about 105F. However, as soon as I launch a game, even as simple as Minecraft, it sounds like a jet engine as the GPU hits about 180F and my CPU about 130F.
What recommendations do you guys have for a decent, easy-to-use thermal paste that will be able to handle the heat? I don't mind curing, but knowing me, I'd need something that isn't electrically conductive.
I'm also looking into a better cooling setup overall, but likely won't get into that for a few months yet.

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Recommended thermal paste for 550ti?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Recommended thermal paste for 550ti?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -