TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Receivers

I have bought 4 In-Ceiling Speakers (Polk Audio RC80i); I still have to buy the center channel speaker & Receivers.

I am new to surround sound systems. I did some research onlind and came to conclusion that Denon and Onkyo are very reliable and good quality recdivers. I was thinking of buying Onkyo TX-SR674 as it has auto sound adjustment and it has following features:
1080p-compatible HDMI switching &
it can upconvert any other components connected by S-Video and composite connections.
95 watts x 7 into 8 ohms (20-20,000 Hz) at 0.08% THD

Spec. for speakers say:
frequency response 50-20,000 Hz (-3dB)
8-ohm impedance
sensitivity 90 dB
handles up to 100 watts

I want to know will this combination work? and how is the performance of Onkyo TX-SR674? or should i buy danon? wich model?

Sorry to bother you guys but I am novice on this issure and would like some help.

Thanks,

Amit Joshi

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Receivers
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Receivers
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.