HolidayBuyer's Guide

The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

Reaching out for Australia!

by P_o_e_t / May 7, 2007 6:49 AM PDT

Hello all, I'm new to the forums here. Upon Veronica's recommendation, I'm posting a small request to the Buzz Out Loud community. I figured with this being a tech-oriented podcast and with supposedly quite a few listeners hailing from Australia I might have a shot at getting in touch with someone who can help me out.

Here's my situation:

I'm currently in the planning stages of move out to Australia with my girlfriend. I'm looking to gather as much information as I can, as well as getting in touch with kind folks who could lend me some advice.

It would be fantastic to get in touch with anyone (be it an Australian citizen or well-traveled migrant worker) who could, in some way, provide some insight into emigrating to Australia. I'm a 25-year-old project manager for a small IT consulting firm in NYC. I'm most interested in finding work (preferably in the same industry) and living in Sydney. If possible, I'd like to discuss and understand factors such as economy, quality of life, governmental influence, cost of living, barrier to entry, etc. Most importantly, if there were some way I could find info on opportunities for employment or obtaining a visa (i.e. a website, magazine, or organization I refer to), that would be so helpful. Regardless, if you'd just like to share your experiences, thoughts, regrets, whatever... I'm happy to hear anything you've got to say.

Thanks!

-Jeremy

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Reaching out for Australia!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates