General discussion

RAM question...

hey im not exactly a noob but im not an expert either so anyway i got 2 sticks of 512 ram pc3200 and just before i asked some really smart people and they told me although my comp could only run pc2100, that pc3200 would still work. They told me that it would just run it as if it were pc2100. So I got it and all seemed well until my comp froze and glitched out, etc. At first I just thought it was the RAM and that it was defective or something but then i began to think about what they had told me. Does anyone here know anything RAM compatibility and all that stuff? All the help i could get would be great.

ps: if u need any more info on my comp or wat RAM i bought then just ask for it.

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: RAM question...
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: RAM question...
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Troubleshooting RAM