General discussion

Quickbooks 2005 problem

I am new to quickbooks and have installed Quickbooks pro 2005. But when I go to start it, it gives me the following error:

"win xp and 2000 users must have power users or admin group rights in order to run quickbooks. Please contact your system adminstrator"

How the heck do I change this? I'm not on a network, just little ole me here. I understand this has to do with security settings on Win XP, but I don't know much about them or how to change them.

Can someone help me out with this before I go insane?
Happy
Laura

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Quickbooks 2005 problem
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Quickbooks 2005 problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Quickbooks 2005 problem

Quickbooks requires you to be a system administator on your XP machine in order to run it. To see if you are, click 'Start' then 'Control Panel' then choose 'User Accounts'. If you are an administrator it will tell you. If you are not, make yourself one by clicking on your account then 'Change my account type'. Hope this helps.

- Collapse -
Done that!

I am the administrator on my computer. Oh, if it were that simple.