Mac OS forum

General discussion

Questions regarding wi fi

by zurple07 / June 17, 2006 12:19 AM PDT

I am a newbie and loving my IMAC, but feel a little intimadated about some issues. I am planning a 4 to 6 week trip to film in Arizona which means I'll be using motel high speed connections during that time. Since I have only used my home local connection before I am wondering if there is anything I need to to know about the security while on my trip. I was happy to see the way the Mac setup my connection without my involvement. I actually had intended to connect via cable in the beginning, coming from windows, I expected a hassle and knew I needed to download updates immediately. After about three days use and feeling more confident I decided it was time to go wireless. I disconnected the cable from the cable and when I went to disconnect it from the router I found I never had even connected it to begin wait so I had been wireless from the beginning. What can I expect on my trip? Will it be more involved and will it be secure?
Thanks for your help.
Jim

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Questions regarding wi fi
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Questions regarding wi fi
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.