Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Questions about digital camcorders :)

by metalhead152 / November 1, 2004 1:32 PM PST

Hi Im new to this camcorder thing and I was thinking about buying one, however there are quite a few questions I have about them:)(Im not technology impaired, I know lots of terms and words so if you know them use em) :)Here are my questions in a nice orderly fashion Happy

1- Whats a good brand and a price to pay for a decent one?

2- Whats the Diverernce between Hi-8 and Mini DV?

3-Can you burn either Hi-8 and Mini DV onto a Vcd or Dvd?

4- How long can one record on a single Mini Dv or Hi-8? (depending on quality or what?

5- Can you download the content to a computer(special software or not)?

6- If you can to number 5 does it record it as an MPEG or .avi or what?

7- Can you edit them in Adobe premier or other video editting software?

Thats it, if I think of any other's I will let you know.
Thanks for your help:)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Questions about digital camcorders :)
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Questions about digital camcorders :)
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.