Cameras forum

General discussion

Question about Digital Rebel - lens versus moving subjects

by Acts7 / November 30, 2004 4:47 AM PST

Im new to digital / photohraphy in general.

Im kinda confused because Ive used the point and click so long I can take pictures in my sleep.

Okay so if my 3 year old is at soccer practice and I want to capture him and his buddies...
Is the f stop what Im concerned with and do I want that to be high or low?

My other concerns are night photography and portraits.

What lens would you reccommend for each. Why are you reccommending those? For which would I want a small fstop and which would I want a larger fstop.

At night do I then want to let in more or less light? IF Im capturing streetlights etc... And if less or more how does that relate to fstops?

Thanks a TON

Acts7

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Question about Digital Rebel - lens versus moving subjects
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Question about Digital Rebel - lens versus moving subjects
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.