Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Processer Help

by sfig1st / March 5, 2007 6:14 AM PST

Hi, I'm new to computers and I am buying a new computer... I am looking at certain processers and it seems that some processers with a Higher GHZ rate e.g. P4-945 Dual Core 3.4GHZ are nowhere near as good as some processers with a lower GHZ rate e.g. E6700 Dual Core 2.6GHZ.... why is this?

Please Help

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Processer Help
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Processer Help
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
In short...
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / March 5, 2007 6:21 AM PST
In reply to: Processer Help

The Core 2 Duo gets more done with each clock pulse. Sort of how a person with longer legs may go farther with less steps.

Bob

Collapse -
re:
by sfig1st / March 5, 2007 6:27 AM PST
In reply to: In short...

ok, that makes sense but than what does the 3.4 GHz/ 2.6GHz mean than?

Collapse -
Nothing but what clock it runs at.