Computer Help forum

General discussion

Problems with booting windows after linux install

by Mav_Destroyer / March 5, 2010 5:35 AM PST

Hey,

I just installed Ubuntu Linux on my computer which already had Windows XP installed.
I'm kind of new to this so I'm pretty sure I messed up somewhere. The thing is I have two hard drives. one which had Windows already installed on it and a new hard drive I installed in my PC and had the ubuntu OS setup on it.

I disconnected my Windows drive while I was installing Ubuntu on Drive #2 (i think this is what i did wrong) since I was having a hard time getting the computer to detect it.

Now even though both hard drives are properly connected and detectable from the BIOS, the computer only boots to Ubuntu. Is there a way I can fix this?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Problems with booting windows after linux install
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Problems with booting windows after linux install
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.