Linux forum

General discussion

Problems installing Ubuntu 7.04 alternate CD

by Mikel72 / May 7, 2007 8:32 AM PDT

Hello !

I am trying to install Ubuntu 7.04 alternate CD downloaded from Ubuntu.com, I've verified the CD (ubuntu has a program for that) and it said my CD copy is OK !
I am trying to install ubuntu in my old Compaq Presario 5360 (02 disk: 13GB and 10 GB both are IDE and 320 MB RAM) this machine works prefectly with Windows XP... I run ubuntu 5.04 from the CD Live and aparently everything is OK in this machine, but now I want to install v7.04 in my Hard Disk
well, When I am installing my computer freezes when is Partitioning Disks, I've tried twice and it stop in the same process... stop in 50% of the partition job, I am sure the disks are OK 'cause I've used both before in XP, same problem twice in the same process (50% done)

Any Idea? I am new in Linux and I want to try it seriously, but this issue is annoying.

I've noticed the BIOS is from 1999 and I got a message from Ubuntu about BIOS dates, somebody nows something about it?

Thank you for your support.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Problems installing Ubuntu 7.04 alternate CD
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Problems installing Ubuntu 7.04 alternate CD
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.