Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

printer and external HD to wireless router?

greetings!

i would like to hook up my printer and external HD to a wireless router of some sorts. i currently have wireless internet via a cheapy 4 port adsl modem/router. but i dont think its possible to use this device. the only computer involved in my sony vaio laptop which has both wi-fi and bluetooth. so maybe a bluetooth solution would be better?

my setup:

sony vaio laptop (wifi b/g & bluetooth)
hp printer (usb connector only)
maxotor external HD (usb/firewire connectors)
comtrend wireless modem/router (4 network ports)
------------------------

i am very new to wireless/networking, so any and all comments/suggestions are very much appreciated.

thanks!

paul

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: printer and external HD to wireless router?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: printer and external HD to wireless router?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -