Desktops forum

General discussion

Primary Master Drive = "Unknown Device"

Hello all,

I am not a computer expert, but I think my problem is easily corrected. I thank you in advance if you can help.

I have a Dell Dimension 2400 Series desktop. It has been plugged in via ethernet to my network at work for the past three years (when I purchased it new). There, our IT guy set it up so that when I turned on my computer, I was prompted for a username and password to access the computer, as well as all network drives and printers, etc.

I have left the office and I took the computer to set up operations at my home. However, now, when I turn on the computer, I get the following error:

"Primary drive 0 not found" "Strike the F1 key to continue, F2 to run the setup utility."

I have culled from other posts here that I should be looking in the BIOS, and more specifically, the "Drive Configuration" menu. Under that menu, the following appears:

"Diskette Drive A:...............3.5 inch, 1.44 MB

Primary Master Drive..........Unknown Device
Primary Master Drive..........OFF
Secondary Master Drive......CD-ROM Device
Secondary Slave Drive........OFF

IDE Drive UDMA..................On"

When I go into Primary Master Drive, it is set to "AUTO."

The seemingly obvious problem is the computer is not detecting the internal hard drive as my primary master drive -- maybe (hopefully) because it is set up to search for my network drive at work which, as I've explained, is no longer connected, and which hopefully someone here can help me correct. OR, maybe (yikes) the tower was damaged during my move from the office to the house, and the hard drive is busted up in 98 pieces inside the tower. That would be bad.

I would appreciate your thoughts on how I can force the computer to look for the internal hard drive, rather than the network drive which is no longer connected.

My many, MANY thanks for your assistance in advance.

Discussion is locked