PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Power Supply/Motherboard issue

by dpryor5 / August 30, 2008 12:56 AM PDT

Hey, I'm a novice to fiddling around with computer hardware, so I apologize if I'm unclear with my description of the problem. It also seems particularly difficult to explain. I had my computer turn off on me randomly a few times, but I would just turn it on again and it would work. But, recently, I turned off the computer at night and when I tried to turn it on the next day, the computer wouldn't turn on.

The green light on the motherboard was not on, so I assumed the problem was with the power supply, though I wasn't exactly sure whether it was the PSU or the motherboard. But, I got my hand on another power supply (a new one) and when I attached the connectors to their proper positions in the internal devices, the computer still didn't work and the internal fan on the power supply didn't turn on, but the green light on the motherboard was on. This is where I'm stuck at right now and it's incredibly confusing.

When the first PSU (the one I assumed didn't work) was replaced, a friend did the job of taking out the connectors, so I didn't know exactly where each connector was initially. But, I looked through instructions on google and I think I did what I was supposed to do. I connected the 24-pin connector and also a 4-pin ATX12V connector to the motherboard. I also connected 4-pin molex connectors to the dvd drive, the hard drive, and two fans.

I'm not sure if I made a mistake there. I guess there might also be the possibility that the new power supply that I bought from newegg might be a malfunctioning product, but I think that's a very minute possibility, since the light on the motherboard turns on. It's probably more likely that I just screwed something up along the way.

I would appreciate any advice and help from you guys in solving this frustrating problem.

Thanks.

Here are my computer specifications, if needed: