Desktops forum

General discussion

Power Save Mode

by xyrauchen / June 17, 2006 12:49 AM PDT

I own a Dell computer.
I recently moved. When I arrived at my new home and hooked up my computer, here's what happened:

computer started
screen came on and had the message "power save mode"
screen went off and no matter if I hit the mouse or keyboard, the screen does not come back on...unless I hit one of the buttons on the screen. When I hit this button, I see a message saying it is searching and then I get the message that it is in power save mode and the screen goes blank again.

I am a novice/ignorant woman when dealing with computers and have no idea how to trouble shoot this. Can anyone help?!?!?! Thanks so much.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Power Save Mode
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Power Save Mode
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Usually means the monitor has 'no signal'
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / June 17, 2006 1:07 AM PDT