Cameras forum

General discussion

point & shoot with decent manual controls

by bahumbug123 / March 27, 2007 12:19 PM PDT

I currently own an (old) Canon S200 and am looking to buy a new point and shoot camera. Here's what I've been looking for:

-good zoom (preferably 4x optical or up)
-a decent set of manual controls (ISO control, shutter speed control, etc)
-price ($300 or less)

The cameras I've been looking into so far include the Canon A series, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ1K, the Canon Powershot series, and the Fuji FinePix F30.

I'm a beginner/intermediate photographer looking for a p&s that I can have some control over (and can take good pictures in lowlight).

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: point & shoot with decent manual controls
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: point & shoot with decent manual controls
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Manual Controls
by snapshot2 Forum moderator / March 28, 2007 8:12 AM PDT