PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Playing home videos on different dvd players

by denlog_1 / January 24, 2006 9:58 AM PST

I'm trying to burn a dvd of my home videos that will play on My home DVD players that are hooked up to my TV's. Problem is that one player will only play DVD- and the other will only play DVD+ recordable medias. When I rent a movie from blockbuster it will play on both players. Is there some software that will bridge this gap or is there special DVD recordable media that does this? How do Rentals get around this? My DVD burner will record DVD-r, DVD-RW DL, DVD+R, DVD+R, DVD+RW DL. Thanks for any help. I'm a newbie at this

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Playing home videos on different dvd players
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Playing home videos on different dvd players
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Me too.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / January 24, 2006 10:24 AM PST