Question

Plasma or projector for viewing photography?

Hey everyone, question first followed by details. For the $800-1500 dollar range, would I be better off buying a large plasma tv or a projector and screen if I intend to mainly use it for still images?

Details. I'm a professional photographer and for years have screened my images with clients at our studio using a cheapy projector and a DIY screen. I'm doing a overhaul of the whole studio and will be investing perhaps 1,200 in a new viewing system.

For my needs, color accuracy and size are the two biggest factors. Because I show people a still image on screen for a few seconds at a time, a fast refresh rate or "smooth motion" wouldn't do me any good, I need a nice screen for showing photography. My clients will be sitting 10-12 feet from the wall so for the sake of saving space, I was perhaps thinking a 60" tv with a wall mount that can extend out to move the screen closer when I need it to be.

My other option would be to buy a pull-down screen and a projector. I wouldn't be able to fit anything bigger than 84" on my wall so I'm not sure if there will be enough of a advantage of the projector. I can dim the lights in the room so I'm not worried at all about how bright the screen can be.

It's main use will be doing images slideshows for clients using an hdmi cable hooked up to my laptop. If I get a plasma, I would perhaps consider having a constant image slideshow playing in the background during shoots (just as something to look at). It's not for gaming or watching football, and I really don't care how thin it is, picture quality and color accuracy is what I'm wanting.

Any suggestions? If I get the projector I would need a ceiling mount and pull down screen, whereas if I get the plasma I just need a extending wall mount. I'm just not sure if 60" is big enough even if I can get it extending out two feet from the wall? Thanks in advance guys!

Discussion is locked
Follow