TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Picture distortion/stretching on Sony KDF-55XS955

by thekccubby / December 1, 2004 1:09 AM PST

I am brand new to HDTV or widescreens in general. I just bought a Sony KDF-55XS955 and love it, but I am having trouble mastering what format to view things in.

Naively, I assumed that they TV would know how to format things.

I have a high def (1080?) DVD player and it seems that no matter what viewing mode (normal, full, wide, zoom) that I use that the screen is somewhat stretched. I have tried several DVDs including Lord of the Rings, Finding Nemo, the West Wing and many others.

Is there a solution to this? If I lower the resolution I can go into normal viewing and do not get the distortion but then I lose my high def.

Am I just expecting something that I cannot get from an HDTV?

Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Picture distortion/stretching on Sony KDF-55XS955
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Picture distortion/stretching on Sony KDF-55XS955
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.