TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Philips 50PF7220A/37 , HDTV, and Dish Network

by hoxfan1 / January 23, 2006 2:56 PM PST

I just bought the Philips 50PF7220A/37 (50" plasma HDTV-integrated flat screen) from Costco. I thought it was an incredible deal so I plunked down the cash as soon as I could. The problem is I am a total HDTV novice. I have my ps2 and dish network plugged into the tv. My wife and I both agree that the picture looks worse than it did on our 36" Sony CRT from about 5 years ago. I would've thought that out of the box with the same connections, the picture would be better so i'm obviously extremely concerned. But before I go running back and returning to Costco, I need to know from anyone who has ANY experiences like mine...is it time to panic? what can I do to fix this? is it as simple as getting the dish network HD package? and if I do...will all my channels look better or just my HD channels? I would think that my PS2 would be sharper than before but it isn't as well. I'm really confused..the wife is ready to divorce me...ANY advice..ANY advice at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Philips 50PF7220A/37 , HDTV, and Dish Network
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Philips 50PF7220A/37 , HDTV, and Dish Network