Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Office & Productivity Software forum

General discussion

Perennial Problems with Office 2003

by lsk333 / September 7, 2006 11:49 PM PDT

I have had difficulty with several of my Office 2003 programs including Word, Outlook, and PowerPoint. I'm not sure if the software is merely buggy or if something else more insidious is going on. Anyway, I have tried to uninstall the entire office package and reinstall only to have everything come back entirely as it was before along with it's little tics and problems.

Specifics:

I have a brand new custom built computer (built it myself...thank you very much!!!) Windows XP with SP2 and updates, Kaspersy Suite so I shouldn't have any nasties running around. I am a statistician so I have various pieces of technical software. I'm not a gamer so I don't have any big games on the computer.

Outlook never closes properly...or so it complains. Although I don't notice any problems I always get that annoying popup window from Microsoft telling me it didn't close properly and wouldn't I like to report the problem to them. The answer is a big fat NO!!! How do I shut that window off? At this point, I don't care if Outlook is shutting down properly...just quit bugging me after the fact.

My Word seizes up during my work. Suddenly the mouse cursor freezes and nothing moves. I can't call up the task manager with ctl alt del...so the entire system is locked-up. I originally thought it was my wireless laser mouse but it only happens in Word. It also gives me headaches when I try to call up an attachment from Outlook. It sits indefinitely with a partial window. I have to click through other windows and go back to Word to get the full view. This is so weird.