Windows Legacy OS forum

Question

peer-to-peer networks and servers

by greenprint / January 31, 2012 2:10 PM PST

Hi,

I am very new to the IT industry, and I am wondering if you could create a peer-to-peer network and configure a file server and print server. Do you just go to Manage Your Server on the host computer? And then add the rest of the computers to the local network?

The reason why I am asking is that I thought that servers are used only in a client-server scenario in a domain.

Could you go over the steps in creating a peer-to-peer network with a file and print server?

Thank you.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: peer-to-peer networks and servers
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: peer-to-peer networks and servers
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
Re: network
by Kees_B Forum moderator / January 31, 2012 6:38 PM PST