Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

PDF Creation Now Fails

I have a new PDF creation problem in Win98SE. Because my older word processing programs (WPerfect8 and MSWord 2002) don't directly support PDF file creation, I've been using a workaround for several years. I loaded a postscript printer driver and, after selecting that printer, I select "print to file" for any word processor document I want in PDF.

After manually changing that print file's extension from .PRN to .PS, I used to double-click the file and Adobe PDF Distiller would quickly open and create a perfect PDF file.

That was the way things worked until I loaded AutoCAD 2000 on my computer a few months ago. Now, whenever I try to double-click the PS file I've created, an error message appears saying the ". . . file is too large for Notepad to open" and asking me if I want to use WordPad instead. Using that just opens a text file.

Also, double-clicking the original printer file (PRN)I created opens Adobe Distiller, but Distiller shows error messages and will not create a PDF file.

I assume the problem is connected to my installing AutoCAD because whenever I change the print file (PRN) to Postscript (PS) the "Type" of file immediately changes to "AutoCAD Postscript Support" (as visible in Win Explorer).

Is there any thing I can do - short of removing AutoCAD - to return my PDF creation workaround to its previous functional state? Thanks.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: PDF Creation Now Fails
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates