PC Hardware forum

General discussion

PCI Wireless network cards

Hello,
I am somewhat new to home networking. I am simply trying to connect my PC directly to a free WiFi service that is now active in much of Philadelphia Pa. (see here --> http://wirelessphiladelphia.org/ You don't even need an account. My brother connects with his laptop and I know others that connect direct from a hand held.

So, I figure all I have to do it put any old PCI wireless g adapter into my desktop, and purchased 2 used AT&T Plug&Share 6500g adapters with the software disk. After the install I see as many as 7 different networks, but none of them is a name brand service. Some are just a bunch of numbers, some have, what I assume to be, user assigned names to thier network (such as Home WiFi, or belkin 54g) I don't see anything saying Philadelphia Wireless, or AT&t or any others like that. Some are secured and one or 2 are not. I think I am connecting thru someone elses router that they did not secure.

My question then. Is it possible this card only connects to a particular service, such as AT&T? My computer does sit low under a wood table near the floor with a 5" (maybe) antenna connected directly to card. Also, the card was manufactured in 2003. Any issues there?

The service map for Philadelphia Wireless clearly shows my address well in the service area. There is no support for this service yet and I can't find any help from AT&T/Cingular.

My system is a home assembled K7S5A with an AMD xp 2000+ running Windows XP.

Thanks for reading,
Bill

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: PCI Wireless network cards
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates